News and Views Post Celebration of Whitney

EXCLUSIVE Interview with Hayley-Ria Christian

cyprusthrive had the exclusive opportunity to speak with Hayley-Ria Christian aka Whitney Houston post Celebration of Whitney show, who let us take a peek behind the scenes.

DU: First of all, thank you Hayley for accepting FDi’s and LCPV’s invitation, for supporting their cause, and for delighting us with such a wonderful show. Tell us, what is the ingredient of your success?

HRC: Dedication, passion and a lot of hard work! Haha! I have a lot of support from my husband, family and close friends – without them I wouldn’t have got to where I am now. Having people believe in your abilities spurs you on when you’re feeling that you’re somewhat failing at what you do….. but like the comedian Kevin Hart wrote – “Stage time means perfecting your craft” So I give my all to an audience of 5 or an audience or 5000… they all get the same show.

DU: When did you realise you actually sound like Whitney Houston and how did the Celebration of Whitney start?

HRC: I grew up listening to Whitney in the 80s, in fact “I Wanna Dance With Somebody’ was the very first record my mum bought me on vinyl and I played it over and over again! I’ve always loved her music and the fact that we share the same birthday (9th Aug) made me somehow connect to her. I’ve always had Whitney songs in my Soul show – but when she sadly passed away far too soon, I was asked to sing a few tribute songs to her at event and that where’s “Celebration of Whitney” started…. its making sure her music lives on and is never forgotten.

DU: How did you meet Derek Lainsbury, LCPV Vice President and how did you find your brief, marathon tour through Cyprus? I met Derek through a mutual friend – Justine Riddoch, who is better know as the awesome “Totally Tina” (Tina Turner tribute show). She told me about the cause and how he’s wanting to spread awareness of the charities and how I could help by performing at the events he’s putting on. Cyprus is my favourite island to visit – everyone is so friendly – the landscape is stunning…. I definitely think me and my husband will retire here…. eventually!

HRC: What are your future projects? Future projects… erm…. rest?! haha! I have a full diary coming up, due to the festive season. Christmas parties etc. I’m travelling all over the UK with all 3 of my shows, Whitney, Gladys and my Soul show. Also I’ll be working alongside the 6 piece band “The Soul Council” – I love working with those guys as I get to play my saxophone and sing songs that sound great with a live band.

DU: I understand you will be returning next year to Cyprus to support FDi’s and LCPV’s charitable efforts, could you give us a hint what to expect next?

HRC: I’m hoping to be performing in different parts of Cyprus that I’ve yet to discover…. a week really isn’t long enough! haha! But on the other hand – the audiences that I had this week were absolutely amazing and I hope to see them again too. Derek has plans to bring over other acts so maybe a collaboration with another tribute act could be on the cards…. Whitney duetted with many artists in her career, so maybe a double header line up with say George Michael?  Either way – I’m really looking forward to coming back, spreading the word on the LCPV’s and FDi’s charitable efforts and making sure everyone who comes down to my show has a fantastic time.

Massive thanks to everyone who came down to watch and finally a huge thanks to Derek for his kindness and hospitality.

DU: Thank you for your time and hope to see and listen to you again soon!

Listen & remember!

LCPV & FDi behind the scenes

The charities’ efforts were not in vain. The funds raised on this occasion amounted to Euro 1,320. All proceeds went to LCPV and FDi and would be spent on treatment and therapies for HIV patients and victims of human trafficking.

Overall, the organisers were happy with the outcome as ‘Over 200 supported us at each event. Very pleased with the outcome. Guests begging us for more!’ Derek Lainsbury said.

 

Leave a comment